Home > GBA > Dragon Ball GT: Transformation

Dragon Ball GT: Transformation

Dragon Ball GT: Transformation is a side-scroller beat ’em up video game developed by Webfoot Games for the Game Boy Advance. The story takes place during the “Lost Episodes” and “Baby” story arcs of the anime Dragon Ball GT. Despite the fact that the gameplay has changed since the Legacy of Goku series, many consider Dragon Ball GT: Transformation as a sequel. Transformation was re-released in 2006 as part of a Game Boy Advance two-pack, which includes Dragon Ball Z: Buu’s Fury  on the same cartridge. A sequel entitled “Dragon Ball GT: Transformation 2” was slated for a 2006 release, but the game has been canceled for unknown reasons. Currently the game has a 68% average on Game Rankings.[1]


The gameplay is based on the standard classic “Beat-’em-up” sub-genre of fighting games, similar to games such as Sega’s Streets of Rage series, or Konami’s Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles games.


Transformation boasts a rather robust playable character cast for a Game Boy Advance side-scroller. Below is a complete list of the playable characters:

  • Kid Goku
  • Super Saiyan Kid Goku
  • Super Saiyan 4 Goku
  • Pan
  • Trunks
  • Uub
  • Piccolo
  • Super Saiyan Vegeta
  • Super Baby Vegeta

Child Goku (with tail) and Golden Oozaru Goku are also playable characters, however they are only playable during the end of the story mode and are not selectable in any of the other modes.

Super Saiyan Trunks was listed as a playable character on Atari’s website prior to the game’s release. Despite this however, he is not a playable character. The site also mentioned that two villains would be playable, but in the end Super Baby Vegeta is the only playable villain.

Game modes

Dragon Ball GT: Transformation sports multiple modes of play, but the story mode is the only one available from the beginning. The other gameplay modes must be unlocked by the player by purchasing them with acquired zenie, which is rewarded to the player at the end of each stage, based on their performance. The player’s total points are converted into zenie, and bonuses are rewarded based on multiple factors such as time, combos, and power-ups obtained.

Story Mode

This is the main mode of the game. The first level is Immecka, the first planet that Son Goku, Trunks, and Pan visit during their quest to find the elusive Black Star Dragon Balls. Throughout the course of the game, players collect the rest of the Dragon Balls and return to Earth, which has been completely taken over by the Tsufurujin parasite known as “Baby”. The final stage takes place on Planet Plant, the Tsufurujin home world, which was wished back to existence using the Black Star Dragon Balls by Baby Vegeta. In the final boss battle, Super Saiyan 4 Goku faces off against a Golden Oozaru Baby Vegeta.

Single Player Mode

Similar to Story Mode, only with the between-stage discussion scenes removed. However, the benefit of this mode is that the player is able to choose from up to three of the nine available characters that they have unlocked to create their own team. Despite the fact that Kid Goku (with tail) and Golden Oozaru Goku are playable briefly during the story mode, they are not available in any other mode.

Endurance Mode

Available as a single player or multiplayer mode, Endurance pits the player(s) against wave after wave of increasingly tougher enemies. The goal is to stay alive as long as possible.

Boss Endurance Mode

Similar to the Endurance Mode, this single or multiplayer mode pits the player(s) against each of the game’s sub-bosses and bosses in the order that they appear throughout the game.

Robot Swarm Mode

Similar to the previous endurance modes, this single player or multiplayer mode has the player(s) choose a time limit of their choice, and try to defeat as many miniature robots as they can within the chosen limit.

Piccolo Mode

A Multiplayer Versus Mode where players play as Piccolo and his clones body doubles.


Categories: GBA Tags:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: